Why ISTQB Certification

ISTQB® Certified Tester is the most widespread qualification scheme in the world, and the syllabi contents and glossary have become the de facto industry reference for the software testing profession.

ISTQB Features

Global recognition

Certifications are recognized globally because of the consistent application of ISTQB® policies and procedures by the member boards.


the assessment of tester capabilities is conducted independently by ISTQB® and provides objective verification of competencies.

High quality syllabi

all syllabi are developed and reviewed by leading testing professionals from academia and industry.


ISTQB® materials are developed on a voluntary basis and are open to contributions from anybody interested in joining ISTQB® working groups

Foundation Level

Foundation Level Certification exam provides an opportunity to professionals to exhibit their practical knowledge of fundamental concepts of the field of software testing. The target for this certification program are following professionals:

  • Test Designers
  • Test Designers
  • Test Analysts
  • Test Engineers
  • Test Consultants
  • Test Managers
  • User Acceptance Testers
  • IT Professionals
What are the entry criteria?

It is suggested that candidates for the Foundation Level certification have at least six months practical experience in a professional testing role.

What is validity duration?

Foundation level certification is valid for life time.

Levels after Foundation Level

Holders of the Foundation certificate are eligible to continue on to higher level software testing qualifications, certifying themselves at Advanced level, and then at the Expert level. The entire learning journey is underpinned by the ISTQB® Glossary.

ISTQB® Product Portfolio

Book an exam

PSTB is offering ISTQB Foundation Level Certification

Please reserve an exam seat by filling the following registration form

Registration Form

Reserve a Seat

Rs. 20,000/-

Payment details will be emailed to you after seat reservation

Exam Fee

Lahore September 12, 2020
Islamabad September 18, 2020
Karachi September 18, 2020

Exam Dates


Exam Pattern

To get an ISTQB® Certified Tester Foundation Level Certificate you must successfully pass the Foundation Exam administered by PSTB. Upon successful completion of the exam, you will be issued with an ISTQB® Foundation Level Certificate, which is internationally recognized. The exam aims to verify that the candidate has acquired the professional knowledge contained in the syllabus. The Foundation Level exam is characterized by:

  • 40 multiple-choice questions
  • a scoring of 1 point for each correct answer
  • a pass mark of 65% (26 or more points)
  • a duration of 60 minutes

Exam structure and exam rules for 2018-syllabus version can be downloaded from the link below:

CTFL Exam Structure and Rules

Exams may be taken as part of a course delivered by an Accredited Training Provider or taken independently at a PSTB organized exam center The typical duration of the Foundation Level Training offered by an Accredited Training Provider is 3 days. Completion of an accredited training course is not a prerequisite for participating to the exam.

Exam Syllabus

The following picture summarizes the contents of the Foundation Level syllabus:

Detailed syllabus for ISTQB Foundation Level Certification can be downloaded from link below.

CTFL 2018 Syllabus


Course content for Foundation Level Certification can be downloaded from link below.

Course Content